Departed

I am both paralyzed and restless, my mind does not stop for fear yet does not move for the same fear that will drag me under.

When I am not gasping for air I breathe deeply, trying to take in some small sign of life and yet my chest is empty.

My skeleton and my conscience weigh me down, the only thing to stop me sinking is my mind that no longer feels part of this world.

My thoughts rush in like an army yet they are fighting for the wrong side, with swords drawn they tear down my remaining walls.

I no longer fear the pain that keeps me alive but I fear myself, when will I draw the line, how will I know when to stop?

From my mind, my body, my thoughts, and my feelings, I am departed.

 

Leave a Reply

