With me

He is with me.

When I open my eyes,

When I sleep at night,

When I take the first step outside that leaves me breathless with fear.

 

He is with me.

When I smile

or when I choke

back tears that refuse to fall the way they used to, now that I am numb.

 

He is with me.

When I am a prisoner

in my own home,

unable to do what I love, what I need to survive, to be myself.

 

He is with me.

But I hope for even a second,

that I am with him,

screaming, protesting,

before he thinks to take another prisoner.

Leave a Reply

